25 Ecologically Sensitive Areas Identified in Kerala

The Western Ghats Ecology Experts Panel (WGEEP) has identified 25 ecologically sensitive areas in the state of Kerala. The panel was constituted by the Union Ministry of Environment and Forests and its report is due on June 5th. There are indications that Sholayar, Athirapally, Nelliyampathy, Attapadi, Vythiri, Malakkapara, Ranni and Konni are on the list. Certain areas close to the forest in Munnar will also be declared ecologically sensitive. The WGEEP’s proposals have to be cleared by the local panchayats. The approved proposals will be forwarded to the Western Ghats Expert Authority. Discussions on assigning scores to the Western Ghats in other states are to be held.

(Visited 2,871 times, 1 visits today)


Leave a Reply